Sports Awards 2016 – Results

 2016 Sports Personality Awards – for Sporting Achievements in 2015


Aberdeen Sports Council held its Annual Sports Personality Awards Evening at Curl Aberdeen, at which there was a large appreciative audience, including Doug Souter, a Board Member of the Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils. A large number of Nominations had been submitted from A.S.C. Member Clubs and the Awards Sub Committee had the difficult task of reducing the list to a shortlist, from which the eventual Category Winners were selected.   Some of the Trophy recipients were unable to attend the Presentation, due to Competing, Training, Officiating duties or personal reasons.

The SALSC – Service to Sport Award – was presented to Fraser Clyne ( Athletics ) by Doug Soutar Esq – and the Aberdeen Sports Council – Service to Sport Award – was presented by Sandy Dalgarno Esq, a Trustee of the Dr Hellen Reith Trust to ASC Chairman – Bill Berry MBE, who accepted the Trophy on behalf of Gordon McAthie ( Ultimate Judo ) who was out of the Country.


Award Winner Sport
Female Junior Robyn Geddes Archery
Male Junior Dylan Curry Table Tennis
Female Senior Rhona Auckland Athletics
Male Senior David Florence Kayaking
Disability Sport Female Toni Shaw Swimming
Disability Sport Male Conner Morrison Swimming
Veteran Award Audrey Cooper Swimming
Club Person of the Year Leroy Smith Boxing
Coach Award Gregor McMillan Swimming
Team Award Zariba Synchronised Ice Skating
ASC Service to Sport Award Gordon McCathie Judo
SALSC Service to Sport Award Fraser Clyne Athletics

Awards Winners

Pictured – Rear are the Award Winners and their Trophies

Seated Front, Left to Right –

Katie Barnett ( ASC Secretary / Awards Committee Convenor ) who has the ASC Service to Sport, which was presented to Gordon McAthie of Ultimate Judo, who was unable to attend;

Sandy Dalgarno Esq   –  Trustee of the Dr Hellen Reith Trust who is holding the Senior Female Award – Winner   Rhona Auckland – Athletics;

Bill Berry MBE  – Chairman Aberdeen Sports Council; Doug Soutar  –   Board Member of SALSC ( Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils) who presented the SALSC Service to Sport Award to – Fraser Clyne  –  Athletics


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone