2017 Sports Personality Awards – Results

 2017 Sports Personality Awards – for Sporting Achievements in 2016


Aberdeen Sports Council held its Annual Sports Personality Awards Evening at Curl Aberdeen, at which there was an appreciative audience, including Gail Price, a Development Officer at the Scottish Association of Local Sports Councils. A large number of Nominations had been submitted from A.S.C. Member Clubs and the Awards Sub Committee had the difficult task of reducing the list to a shortlist, from which the eventual Category Winners were selected.   Some of the Trophy recipients were unable to attend the Presentation, due to Competing, Training, Officiating duties or personal reasons.

The SALSC – Service to Sport Award – was presented to Dave McDonald  ( Rugly / Various ) by Gail Prince . And the ASC Service to Sport Award was presented to Chris & Ken Baillie (Kayaking).


Award Winner Sport
Female Junior Rachel Mathieson Golf
Male Junior Dylan Curry Table Tennis
Female Senior Rachel Keir Swimming
Male Senior Grant Walker Rugby
Disability Sport Female Orianne Slater Gymnastics
Disability Sport Male Michael Smith Judo
Veteran Award Ian Milne Swimming
Club Person of the Year Colleen McIver Soo Yang Do
Coach Award Dave Bremner Soo Yang Do
Team Award Zariba Synchronised Ice Skating
ASC Service to Sport Award Chris & Ken Baillie Kayaking
SALSC Service to Sport Award Dave McDonald Rugby / Various



Pictured – Back Left to Right

Dylan Curry, Gordon McIver (on behalf of Dave Bremner), Michael Smith, Zariba’s Lauren Jessiman and Danielle Laurence, Grant Walker, Mads Trollborg (on behalf of Rachel Kerr), Bill Telfer (on behalf of Chris and Ken), Orianne Slater, Ian Milne.

Seated Front, Left to Right –

Gail Prince (Senior Development officer at SALSC), Bill Berry MBE (Chairman Aberdeen Sports Council), Dave McDonald, Katie Barnett (ASC Secretary / Awards Committee Convenor), Colleen McIver, Rachel Mathieson.


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone